About Us

Our Mission

The Colorado Sun is a journalist-owned, ad-free news outlet based in Denver but which strives to cover all of Colorado so that our state — our community — can better understand itself.

In this way, we believe we can contribute to a more vibrant, informed and whole Colorado.

We are committed to fact-based, in-depth journalism.

Our goal is not to turn a profit. Our goal is to produce the best possible journalism.

Who We Are

The Colorado Sun is made up of 10 staff writers and editors. They are:

Larry Ryckman, Editor — larry@coloradosun.com

Dana Coffield, Senior Editor — dana@coloradosun.com

Eric Lubbers, Technology & Strategy — eric@coloradosun.com

Jason Blevins, Outdoors/Business Writer — jason@coloradosun.com

Tamara Chuang, Business/Technology Writer — tamara@coloradosun.com

Jennifer Brown, Government/Human Services Writer — jennifer@coloradosun.com

John Ingold, Health/Criminal Justice Writer — johningold@coloradosun.com

Kevin Simpson, Colorado Lifestyle/General Assignment Writer — kevin@coloradosun.com

John Frank, Politics/Beer Writer — johnfrank@coloradosun.com

Jesse Paul, Politics/General Assignment Writer — jesse@coloradosun.com

The Sun also employs several contributing writers and photographers.

To otherwise get in touch with The Sun, you can reach us by email at newsroom@coloradosun.com or tips@coloradosun.com.

You can also contact us via Signal, WhatsApp or voicemail: (720) 669-3663.

How We Are Funded

We were fortunate to find partners interested in creating a new model for local journalism. Civil is getting The Colorado Sun started with some financial and technical backing now, but the news will be sourced, reported, edited and published right here in Colorado.

In the long term, we will rely on member support and sponsorships to sustain The Colorado Sun. More on how we accept sponsorships and our transparency rules can be found in our ethics policy.

Every dollar we receive goes directly toward the journalism we produce. Period.

To become a sponsor, email larry@coloradosun.com.

Ethics Policy

To view our ethics policy, visit coloradosun.com/ethics.

SunLit

Through a feature we call SunLit, done in partnership with Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book, The Colorado Sun will present current excerpts of works from some of the best Colorado fiction and nonfiction writers — always for free. We offer these literary appetizers, as well as author Q&As to lend context to the selections, as part of our mission to reinforce our shared sense of community, and to perhaps introduce readers to a new favorite writer.

To learn more, visit coloradosun.com/about-sunlit.

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

We label opinion pieces (including cartoons) and letters to the editor prominently, using the clearest words possible to note that they are separate from news coverage. This includes when we post links to opinion pieces on social media accounts.

For more on how we will handle opinion pieces and letters to the editor, see our ethics policy.

To submit letters to the editor or if you are interested in becoming an opinion contributor, email opinion@coloradosun.com.

About Civil

Civil is a blockchain-based economy that involves the direct, peer-to-peer exchange of value between journalists who report articles, make videos, record podcasts, and the people who read, watch, listen and support their work. To learn more, visit civil.co.