Fire stations, including this one in Lafayette, on March 15, 2019, are designated sites under Colorado's Safe Haven Law, which says a parent can drop off a baby within 72 hours of birth without fear of child abandonment charges. Infants must be handed to an employee. (Dana Coffield, The Colorado Sun)

It’s been legal to drop off newborns in Colorado since 2000, so why aren’t suspicious infant deaths declining?

From 2001-18, 64 infants have been handed over at fire stations and hospitals under the Safe Haven Law. Advocates say a new generation of teens doesn’t know the law exists

Health Primary category in which blog post is published
Crime and Courts Primary category in which blog post is published

Colorado attorney general announces alliance to address hate crimes

The announcement came less than a week after an annual FBI report showed there were 123 hate crimes reported in Colorado in 2018, a 16% increase over the previous year

Business Primary category in which blog post is published

Altitude sues Comcast, says cable provider is running Denver sports network out of business

Basketball and hockey fans still can’t watch Denver Nuggets, Colorado Avalanche on Comcast as dispute gets uglier

Business Primary category in which blog post is published

More Colorado workers will get breaks, must make $42,500 salary to be exempt from overtime under draft policy

The proposal represents a major win for Colorado labor groups, who have long been pushing for the changes -- although they didn’t get everything they wanted.