Proposition II, which was approved by a wide margin Tuesday, lets the state keep and spend all the revenue collected through Colorado’s increased tobacco and nicotine taxes
Colorado’s proposed quality rules, which will take effect in fall 2024, are already coming too late for the first class of universal preschoolers — about 38,000 4-year-olds and 9,000 3-year-olds so far this fall
Most summer days, the students of You be You Early Learning unleash their torrent of energy in a classroom shaded by a canopy of cottonwood leaves, with slivers of sunlight cascading over them as they play rounds of musical chairs after learning how to add numbers or identify the different kinds of bugs living in […]
The state will introduce its new “universal preschool” program this fall, providing a minimum of 15 hours of preschool for all kids the year before they start kindergarten. Working families say they need more.
The Colorado Department of Education matched families during the first round of applications and will begin pairing applicants from the second round with providers next month
The Early Childhood Service Corps puts adults 50 and older in preschool classrooms to help teach and fill workforce gaps
Under Colorado law, 4-year-olds identified as English learners are eligible for additional hours of preschool. The additional hours — 30 instead of 15 — are dependent on state funding.
When child care is a patchwork of providers, child development suffers and costly labor churn increases. Parents need a reliable schedule.
Colorado’s expanded preschool program will serve 3-year-olds who need more schooling before kindergarten. With districts managing state funding for those kids, community providers worry they will meet a financial cliff.
State officials expect about 30,000 children to opt into the universal preschool program in its first year. That’s about half the number that will be eligible.