Gov. Jared Polis on Saturday extended Colorado’s statewide mask-wearing mandate until at least mid-October.
The directive was set to expire this weekend. It now lasts until Oct. 12.
COVID-19 IN COLORADO
The latest from the coronavirus outbreak in Colorado:
- MAP: Cases and deaths in Colorado.
- TESTING: Here’s where to find a community testing site. The state is now encouraging anyone with symptoms to get tested.
- VACCINE HOTLINE: Get up-to-date information.
“The masks are working,” Polis said on Friday. “We want to end it as soon as we can, but what it allows is all this progress we’re making. I mean, the only reason we are talking about high school football, the only reason we are talking about kids at our colleges and being open when other states stay closed, is because of the success that Coloradans have demonstrated wearing masks.”
The mandate, initially enacted in July, requires Coloradans 11 years old and above to wear a mask when in indoor public spaces. Violators face civil and criminal penalties.
The governor said he’s likely to keep renewing the mask-wearing directive until Colorado has safely figured out how to safely reopen bars and nightclubs.
“That’s really the last thing that’s not happening,” he said. “If we’re able to successfully do that, then ending the mask requirement would be the next step.”
Polis said he, too, is tired of wearing a mask and is looking forward to the day he can lift the mask-wearing mandate and the statewide burn ban and torch his face coverings.
“We look forward to the day the fire bans are ended and the mask requirements are ended and we can party all night long,” he joked.
Updated on Saturday, Sept. 12, 2020: This story has been updated to reflect that the mask-wearing mandate was extended for 30 days.