Gov. Jared Polis on Friday said he will extend Colorado’s mask-wearing mandate into November.
The directive, right now, is set to expire on Oct. 12. At a news conference on Friday, Polis said he will keep it going for at least another 30 days, urging Coloradans to abide by the mandate.
“Just wear a mask,” he said. “This is simple.”
COVID-19 IN COLORADO
The latest from the coronavirus outbreak in Colorado:
- MAP: Known cases in Colorado.
- TESTING: Here’s where to find a community testing site. The state is now encouraging anyone with symptoms to get tested.
- STORY: About 25% of Colorado’s intensive-care beds are filled with coronavirus patients as cases continue to spike
The mandate, initially enacted in July, requires Coloradans 11 years old and above to wear a mask when in indoor public spaces. Violators face civil and criminal penalties.
Some counties and cities in Colorado have stricter mask-wearing orders than Polis’ statewide one.
“Don’t wait for some government official to ‘say wear a mask,'” Polis said.
The governor said Friday that he’s alarmed by rising hospitalizations and cases in Colorado in recent weeks, saying the state hasn’t seen a surge like this since July. Polis said if it continues, it will threaten the economy and the state’s health care capacity.
As of Friday afternoon, there were 256 people with coronavirus hospitalized in Colorado. That’s the highest amount since July 20.
Our articles are free to read, but not free to report
Support local journalism around the state.
Become a member of The Colorado Sun today!
The latest from The Sun
- Colorado authorities use DNA to identify body found in 1974
- U.S. Forest Service to temporarily close public lands in five Colorado counties because of fire conditions
- Colorado’s current coronavirus hospitalizations equivalent to 25% of intensive-care capacity as cases continue to spike
- How Colorado shaped NASA’s first mission to collect asteroid dirt
- Five charts that show where 2020 ranks in Colorado wildfire history