Gov. Jared Polis on Tuesday ordered that alcohol sales in Colorado cease at 10 p.m. in an effort to slow the increasing spread of coronavirus among young people in the state.
COVID-19 IN COLORADO
The latest from the coronavirus outbreak in Colorado:
- MAP: Known cases in Colorado.
- TESTING: Here’s where to find a community testing site. The state is now encouraging anyone with symptoms to get tested.
- STORY: Colorado has had coronavirus spikes before. Here’s why the current one could be different.
Polis said alcohol has been the common denominator in the spread of coronavirus among Coloradans between 20 and 29 years old, namely at parties and other social gatherings.
The order applies to bars, restaurants and stores that sell alcohol. It goes into effect at 9 a.m. on Thursday.
“You need to do what you can to make sure that we don’t let our judgement lapse on social distancing because we’re inebriated,” Polis said at a news conference at the governor’s mansion in Denver. “If you want to get drunk, nobody is saying alcohol causes coronavirus. It doesn’t.”
But the governor suggested that inebriation makes it easier to spread the disease as people let down their guard after having a few drinks.
“The state of inebriation in a public place is inconsistent with social distancing,” Polis said.
Conversely, Polis vowed to push for legislation next year that would end the state’s law requiring alcohol to stop being served at 2 a.m. He said he believes local governments should be able to make the decision for themselves on when restaurants and bars must stop serving liquor, beer and wine.
The Colorado Restaurant Association didn’t appear reassured by the vow. Sonia Riggs, who leads the group, blasted Polis’ decision.
“We’re extremely disappointed in this order,” she said. “This is a major blow to an industry that is already suffering gravely. We’d like to see the data that backs up this decision, especially as it’s our understanding that restaurants account for just 4% of the outbreaks in this state.”
At least one restauranteur is planning to sue to block the order from going into effect.
Chris Fuselier, who owns Blake Street Tavern in downtown Denver, said Polis’ order doesn’t contain “any data or science that selling alcohol after 10 p.m. nightly will help lower COVID cases.” He said on Twitter that the mandate will be “DEVASTATING to restaurants.”
“To stop serving drinks at 10 will kill business that’s already being killed!” Fuselier tweeted.
Polis said Coloradans 20-29 years old are driving the increase in coronavirus cases in Colorado. While they may not face serious consequences after getting sick, people in that age group can pass the disease onto more vulnerable family, friends and coworkers.
“This affects other people,” he said. “We have to make sure we are all in this together.”
The governor said rising cases in other states similarly began with young people. Reversing the trend now, he explained, is critical.
“This is not the summer to party,” Polis added. “… Now is not the time for house parties. Just have four of your besties over.”
The governor’s decision comes as Colorado works to reverse a trend of increasing coronavirus cases and hospitalizations. Polis has warned the current trajectory isn’t sustainable and that hospitals could be overwhelmed by September if there isn’t a course correction.
Dr. Jill Hunsaker Ryan, who leads the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, said 15 counties were notified last week that they are at risk of losing their variances allowing them to loosen restrictions on people’s movement.
Those counties include:
- El Paso
Ryan said those counties can act on a mitigation plan over two weeks in order to reverse the spread of the disease and prevent losing their variances. They can also simply choose to instead follow the state’s “safer-at-home” rules.
Eight of the 15 counties have already opted to follow the latter route, but Ryan said she didn’t have a list of those eight counties immediately available on Tuesday.
State health officials say they have not rescinded any variances granted to a Colorado county.
“Our early warning system has begun to blink red in a few areas. This is something that we are monitoring closely,” Ryan said. “The spread of the disease is increasing in Colorado and the rate of increase is speeding up.”
Ryan added: “We are at a critical juncture.”
Updated at 10:16 p.m. on Tuesday, July 21, 2020: This story has been updated with details on when the last-call order goes into effect and with comments from a restauranteur who is planning to sue to stop the mandate.
Our articles are free to read, but not free to report
Support local journalism around the state.
Become a member of The Colorado Sun today!
The latest from The Sun
- East Troublesome fire evacuees fled in minutes. Now it could be days before they know the fate of their homes.
- Colorado limits gatherings to 10 people from no more than two households as coronavirus spike continues
- Littwin: The headline from the debate is Trump wasn’t a major jerk, but that isn’t the headline he needed
- “We expect an active fire”: Weather is forecast to fuel East Troublesome fire on Friday
- First coronavirus, then an inferno: How schools in the East Troublesome fire’s path are scrambling to keep their students learning