Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, a sign is posted on the window asking customers to please wear a mask inside the Hope Tank social enterprise gift store on Broadway on April 6, 2021 in Denver, Colorado. (Kathryn Scott, Special to The Colorado Sun)

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on Tuesday urged people, regardless of their vaccination status, living in communities with high COVID-19 transmission rates to resume wearing masks when indoors.

A majority of Colorado counties have transmission rates high enough that the CDC’s new guidance, prompted by surging cases of the delta variant, applies.

Check out the CDC map below to see if your county’s transmission rate is “high” or “substantial” and therefore falls under the new guidance:

CDC map. (Screenshot)

Here is a list of the Colorado counties that the new mask guidance applies to:

  • Adams
  • Alamosa
  • Arapahoe
  • Archuleta
  • Boulder
  • Broomfield
  • Chaffee
  • Cheyenne
  • Clear Creek
  • Conejos
  • Costilla
  • Delta
  • Denver
  • Dolores
  • Douglas
  • Eagle
  • El Paso
  • Fremont
  • Garfield
  • Gunnison
  • Hinsdale
  • Huerfano
  • Jefferson
  • Kit Carson
  • Lake
  • Larimer
  • Las Animas
  • Lincoln
  • Mesa
  • Mineral
  • Moffat
  • Montezuma
  • Montrose
  • Ouray
  • Park
  • Pitkin
  • Pueblo
  • Prowers
  • Rio Blanco
  • Rio Grande
  • Routt
  • Saguache
  • San Miguel
  • Summit
  • Teller
  • Washington
  • Weld

You can also check out the CDC’s website for more information on transmission rates in your area.

This byline is used for articles and guides written collaboratively by The Colorado Sun reporters, editors and producers.