Fire stations, including this one in Lafayette, on March 15, 2019, are designated sites under Colorado's Safe Haven Law, which says a parent can drop off a baby within 72 hours of birth without fear of child abandonment charges. Infants must be handed to an employee. (Dana Coffield, The Colorado Sun)

It’s been legal to drop off newborns in Colorado since 2000, so why aren’t suspicious infant deaths declining?

From 2001-18, 64 infants have been handed over at fire stations and hospitals under the Safe Haven Law. Advocates say a new generation of teens doesn’t know the law exists

Health Primary category in which blog post is published
News Primary category in which blog post is published

Julian Assange may end up at Colorado’s Supermax prison, U.K. court is told

U.S. prosecutors have indicted the 49-year-old Assange on 17 espionage charges and one charge of computer misuse over WikiLeaks’ publication of secret American military documents a decade ago

Outdoors Primary category in which blog post is published

Winter Park ski train won’t run this season because of coronavirus, set to return in 2022

The train’s hiatus this season is another blow to Colorado’s ski industry, which is trying to figure out how to safely reopen resorts this winter amid the pandemic

Transportation Primary category in which blog post is published

$5.6 million grant awarded to help pay for work along Southwest Chief route

The grant will help pay for upgrading 12.4 miles of rail near Lamy, New Mexico and replacing thousands of ties south of Raton Pass and along another section of track